Monday, June 8, 2009

June 2009

I’m going to use this month’s entry to share a bunch of new music, because I realize I haven’t done that in a while, if ever. Accordingly, I wish I could post the entire new NOMO album, Invisible Cities, but that would be messed up – just buy it! It’s mind-blowing in the most subtle of ways, with layers of brilliant flute and sax interplay meandering through the twilight streets and corridors of the locales suggested in the album’s title. A more thoughtful record than their previous efforts, this one’s meant less for the dancehall and more for just lying and listening.

I am of course suitably psyched for the release of Wilco’s forthcoming self-titled LP, stealing only auditory morsels from the full-album streams that have been popping up on the web. I’ll get a full listen when the disc comes out June 30th. I’ve been hearing great things about the Grizzly Bear’s new Veckatimest and the couple singles I’ve heard do nothing to contradict the reviews. Tracks from all of the above are featured below, plus relatively new stuff from PJ Harvey & John Parish, Miike Snow, and the mysterious project Dark Night of the Soul, helmed by Danger Mouse and Sparkle Horse.

Still, with all this talk of new tunes, we’ll begin with a late 70's cover of the Neil Young classic "Down by the River," performed by the super obscure, super funky Dutch Rhythm Steel & Show Band. Gotta give Aquarium Drunkard credit for uncovering this gem.

Track List
1) Dutch Rhythm Steel & Show Band - Down by the River (Neil Young cover)
2) PJ Harvey & John Parish - Black Hearted Love
3) Dark Night of the Soul - Everytime I'm With You (w/ Jason Lytle)
4) MadVillian - Great Day Today
5) Hugh Masekela - Mace and Grenades
6) NOMO - Crescent
7) Q-Tip - Life is Better (ft. Norah Jones)
8) Q-Tip - We Fight We Love (remix ft. Kanye West and Consequence)

9) Third Eye Blind - Graduate
10) Dark Night of the Soul - Pain (w/ Iggy Pop)
11) Grizzly Bear - While You Wait for the Others (live @ Morning Becomes Eclectic)
12) the Shins - Caring is Creepy
13) the Extraordinaires - The Arsonist
14) Wilco - Wilco (the Song)
15) NOMO - Patterns
16) Miike Snow - Sylvia

*All songs are copyrighted to their respective owners, and are posted here for listening purposes only. We are willing to remove music if the copyright owner objects. Please email